Josef Newgarden passed Pato O’Ward on the final lap, becoming the first driver since Helio Castroneves to win back-to-back Indianapolis 500s. This victory marked Roger Penske’s 20th win in “The Greatest Spectacle in Racing.”

After overtaking O’Ward in Sunday’s rain-delayed race, Newgarden celebrated by climbing through the fence to join fans in the grandstands. “I love this crowd. I’ve got to always go in the crowd if we win here, I am always doing that,” Newgarden said.

Newgarden’s Indy 500 Victory Highlights Team Penske’s Triumph Despite Past Controversy
Josef Newgarden competes in the Indianapolis 500 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Sunday.

O’Ward, aiming to be the first Mexican winner in the race’s 108-year history, was visibly disappointed. Meanwhile, Newgarden’s win came after overcoming a major setback when his season-opening victory was disqualified due to illegal push-to-pass software used by Team Penske.

The scandal led to the suspension of four crew members, including Team President Tim Cindric, affecting Newgarden’s team strategy. Despite this, Newgarden was elated to move past the controversy. “Absolutely, they can say what they want, I don’t even care anymore,” he said.

The race delay due to rain also impacted NASCAR star Kyle Larson’s attempt to compete in both the Indy 500 and the Coca-Cola 600 on the same day, ultimately leading to an 18th-place finish.

Scott Dixon of Chip Ganassi Racing secured third place as the highest-finishing Honda driver, followed by Alexander Rossi of Arrow McLaren Racing. Chevrolet claimed three of the top four spots in the race.